Already a Nationally Recognized COQ Property? Enter the COQ Awards

Already a Nationally Recognized COQ Property? Enter the COQ Awards

If you are already a nationally recognized Community of Quality property then you should be entering the NAHMA 2020 Communities of Quality (COQ) Awards competition. The submission deadline to NAHMA is Nov. 5. To enter the awards competition, a property must first apply for and achieve national recognition as a NAHMA Community of Quality with a minimum score of 325 points on its National COQ Recognition application. If you are not a COQ property or have not achieved the minimum score for the awards there is still time. The deadline for submitting a National COQ Recognition application to a local AHMA for consideration is Sept. 3. For properties already participating in the National COQ Recognition program, download the COQ Awards application today and start preparing your entry.

“The Communities of Quality Awards honor the achievements of affordable housing providers who make an unprecedented contribution to developing outstanding properties for families of modest means. NAHMA believes it is essential that outstanding affordable properties―and the individuals who maintain them―be publicly recognized for providing quality housing that offers a safe, healthy environment,” Timothy Zaleski, SHCM, NAHP-e, NAHMA president, said. “They are communities supplying essential programs and services for their residents. These awards bring valuable well-deserved attention to the important work we are all doing.”

The COQ Awards recognize outstanding property management companies providing the highest quality of safe, affordable multifamily rental housing in communities across the country. Judging is based on a point system that takes into account your National COQ Recognition Program application and the required COQ Awards application essay. All affordable multifamily properties may compete—it doesn’t matter how big or small your community may be, where it is located, or which affordable rental program (HUD, RD or LIHTC) it participates in. To download a copy of the COQ Awards brochure, visit

Detailed application information and submission materials for the NAHMA COQ National Recognition and COQ Awards programs are available on the NAHMA website at

The COQ Awards competition has five categories:

  • Exemplary Family Development
  • Exemplary Development for the Elderly
  • Exemplary Development for Residents with Special Needs
  • Exemplary Development for Single Room Occupancy Housing
  • Outstanding Turnaround of a Troubled Property

Award winners will be notified in early January 2021 and will receive their awards in a special ceremony at the NAHMA Biannual Top Issues in Affordable Housing Winter Conference, March 10-12, 2021, in Washington, D.C.

This year’s COQ Awards program is jointly sponsored by HD Supply Multifamily Solutions, a leading supplier of maintenance and renovation products to the multihousing industry, and Mohawk Industries, a leading global manufacturer that creates products to enhance residential and commercial spaces around the world.

An overview of the COQ program, along with the awards’ detailed application information and submission materials are available at the NAHMA website at All COQ nationally recognized properties are eligible to highlight their accomplishments through the use of Digital Smart Badges on their properties’ websites, enabling web visitors to see, and validate, their National COQ Recognition status through a simple “click and verify” process.

The AHMAs will also be honoring their local NAHMA Communities of Quality program participants. Please check your local AHMA’s program details; a directory of the AHMAs is available on the NAHMA website, at

For more information about the COQ program and awards, contact Paulette Washington at 703-683-8630, ext. 110 or .