Deadline To Enter the NAHMA COQ Awards Rapidly Approaches

Deadline To Enter the NAHMA COQ Awards Rapidly Approaches

There are only six short weeks before the deadline to enter the NAHMA 2023 Communities of Quality (COQ) Awards competition. The submission deadline for entries is Nov. 2. The COQ Awards recognize outstanding property management companies providing the highest quality of safe, affordable multifamily rental housing in communities nationwide. Download the awards brochure today.

A property must first apply for and achieve national recognition as a NAHMA Community of Quality with a minimum score of 325 points on its National Recognition application to be eligible for the awards competition. Properties can submit the national recognition application to their local AHMA anytime throughout the year.

If a property initially received less than 325 points when its COQ National Recognition application was first submitted, it may elect to update the original application to earn more points if improvements have since been made. Detailed instructions for updating the initial COQ National Recognition application are included in the COQ Awards application brochure.

“The Communities of Quality Awards honor the achievements of affordable housing providers who make an unprecedented contribution to developing outstanding properties for families of modest means. NAHMA believes it is essential that outstanding affordable properties―and the individuals who maintain them―be publicly recognized for providing quality housing that offers a safe, healthy environment,” Larry Sisson, FHC, SHCM, NAHP-e, CGPM, chair of the NAHMA Board of Directors, said. “They are communities supplying essential programs and services for their residents. These awards bring well-deserved valuable attention to the important work we are all doing.”

The COQ Awards competition has five categories:

  • Exemplary Family Development
  • Exemplary Development for the Elderly
  • Exemplary Development for Residents with Special Needs
  • Exemplary Development for Single Room Occupancy Housing
  • Outstanding Turnaround of a Troubled Property

Management companies are invited to enter more than one category and/or multiple entries in a single category; however, each property may only be entered in one category.

Award winners will be notified in early January 2024. They will receive their awards in a special ceremony at the NAHMA Biannual Top Issues in Affordable Housing Winter Conference, March 6-8, 2024, in Washington, D.C.

This year’s COQ Awards program is jointly sponsored by Navigate Affordable Housing Partners, a nonprofit engaged in developing, owning, and managing affordable housing, and also a federal contractor providing compliance and financial services on behalf of the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) as the Section 8 Performance-Based Contract Administrator (PBCA) for multiple states; and Yardi, which develops and supports industry-leading compliance, accounting and property management software for every type and size of affordable housing provider.

For more information about the COQ program and awards, contact Paulette Washington at 703-683-8630, ext. 110 or .

All COQ nationally recognized properties are eligible to highlight their accomplishments through Digital Smart Badges on their properties’ websites, enabling web visitors to see and validate their COQ national recognition status through a simple “click and verify” process.