Window Is Closing To Apply to NAHMA 2022 COQ Awards

Window Is Closing To Apply to NAHMA 2022 COQ Awards

There is still time to enter the NAHMA 2022 Communities of Quality (COQ) Awards competition. But the window to apply is closing; the awards submission deadline to NAHMA is Nov. 3. The COQ Awards recognize outstanding property management companies providing the highest quality of safe, affordable multifamily rental housing in communities across the country. Download the COQ Awards application brochure today.

A property must first apply for and achieve national recognition as a NAHMA Community of Quality with a minimum score of 325 points on its National Recognition application to enter the awards competition. If your property initially received less than 325 points when your COQ National Recognition application was first submitted, you may elect to update the original application to earn more points if you have made improvements to your property since then. Detailed instructions for updating your initial COQ National Recognition application are included in the COQ Awards application brochure.

Properties can submit a national recognition application to their local AHMA at any time throughout the year. Please check with your local AHMA for its program details. A directory of the AHMAs is available at

“The Communities of Quality Awards honor the achievements of affordable housing providers who make an unprecedented contribution to developing outstanding properties for families of modest means. NAHMA believes it is essential that outstanding affordable properties―and the individuals who maintain them―be publicly recognized for providing quality housing that offers a safe, healthy environment,” Michael Simmons, NAHP-e, NAHMA president, said. “They are communities supplying essential programs and services for their residents. These awards bring well-deserved valuable attention to the important work we are all doing.”

The COQ Awards competition has five categories:

  • Exemplary Family Development
  • Exemplary Development for the Elderly
  • Exemplary Development for Residents with Special Needs
  • Exemplary Development for Single Room Occupancy Housing
  • Outstanding Turnaround of a Troubled Property

Management companies are invited to enter more than one category and/or multiple entries in a single category; however, each property may only be entered in one category.

Award winners will be notified in early January 2023. They will receive their awards in a special ceremony at the NAHMA Biannual Top Issues in Affordable Housing Winter Conference, March 8-10, 2023, in Washington, D.C.

This year’s COQ Awards program is jointly sponsored by Navigate Affordable Housing Partners, a nonprofit engaged in developing, owning, and managing affordable housing and consulting with various housing agencies and the HUD Section 8 project-based contract administrator (PBCA) for multiple states, and Yardi, which develops and supports industry-leading compliance, accounting, and property management software for every type and size of affordable housing provider.

COQ Awards entry materials should be submitted to the National Affordable Housing Management Association by Nov. 3. Please email your PDF application to NAHMA at with the subject line: NAHMA COQ Award.

Detailed application information and submission materials for the NAHMA COQ National Recognition and Awards programs are available at All COQ nationally recognized properties are eligible to highlight their accomplishments through Digital Smart Badges on their properties’ websites, enabling web visitors to see, and validate, their COQ national recognition status through a simple “click and verify” process.

An overview of the COQ National Recognition program, including a quick how-to apply video and overview flowchart, is available at

For more information, contact Paulette Washington at 703-683-8630, ext. 110, or .